Welcome to the heart of Berlin!

From the historic Lessing Bridge the view stretches across the Spree to the building complex where the DFKI Berlin offices are located.

 

Smart Data Forum

Centre of excellence, central showroom for innovative digital technologies, and meeting place for decision-makers from business, science and politics.

1
1

DFKI Berlin

The Berlin research site of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) is located in the heart of the German capital. The DFKI is the leading German research organization in the field of innovative software technology. It ranks among the most recognized “Centers of Excellence” in the international scientific community and is the world’s largest research center in the field of artificial intelligence and its applications with respect to number of employees and volume of external funding.

DFKI Human centric AI
DFKI Berlin

Human Centric AI

Our mission at DFKI Berlin is the development of human-centred artificial intelligence (AI).

While one of the primary objectives of established AI has been to emulate humans, our goal is to improve their lives. We skillfully apply technology to create a natural environment in which people can develop their creativity, communicate freely with each another and technologies, and access the information they need whenever they need it.

Research Topics

Currently, cognitive systems that combine machine learning approaches with knowledge-based methods dominate the AI research landscape. The DFKI began work on the development of these technologies while they were still in their infancy. Research and development at the DFKI Berlin generally encompasses the following three fields:

Smart Data Analytics

Smart Data Analytics

While Big Data is currently the more prominent term, the biggest challenges lie in the processing and analysis of the data. Our objective is to process infinite numbers of documents, taken from the internet for example, in real-time using semantic language technology.

Machine Learning and Teaching

Machine Learning and Teaching

Machine learning approaches are the driving force behind the vast majority of successful AI systems. One of the challenges is to enable machines and algorithms to draw intelligent conclusions from data. Our goal is to turn humans and machines into partners in a lifelong learning process.

Human Technology Interaction

Human Technology Interaction

The interface between man and machine (but also between machines) plays a crucial role in the field of human-centered AI. It must assess the situation correctly, establish the right timing and choose the right channel. Our objective is to empower humans to do things almost magically using situational technology.

Fields of Application

e-health & Well-being

Our health and well-being benefit from the intelligent use of data (diet, exercise, medical reports, etc.). Our work involves the entire data value chain. This includes wearable technologies, smart data technologies and e-learning applications.

Mobility & Smart City

Today, mobility includes not only the spatial dimension but also targeted access to information and communication across linguistic and cultural boundaries. We are working on a variety of different aspects of mobility in which we apply AI methods. These include, for example, creating intelligent motion profiles and presenting Twitter users and news readers with targeted and relevant tips or warnings.

Wearable Technologies

Artificial intelligence is becoming increasingly ubiquitous and moving ever closer to the human body. Technology has already become a regular wardrobe accessory in today’s society, and we are primarily interested in maintaining a balance between form and function. Intelligent wearables should be comfortable and support us invisibly.

e-health & Well-being

Our health and well-being benefit from the intelligent use of data (diet, exercise, medical reports, etc.). Our work involves the entire data value chain. This includes wearable technologies, smart data technologies and e-learning applications.

Mobility & Smart City

Today, mobility includes not only the spatial dimension but also targeted access to information and communication across linguistic and cultural boundaries. We are working on a variety of different aspects of mobility in which we apply AI methods. These include, for example, creating intelligent motion profiles and presenting Twitter users and news readers with targeted and relevant tips or warnings.

Wearable Technologies

Artificial intelligence is becoming increasingly ubiquitous and moving ever closer to the human body. Technology has already become a regular wardrobe accessory in today’s society, and we are primarily interested in maintaining a balance between form and function. Intelligent wearables should be comfortable and support us invisibly.

Research Teams

The DFKI Berlin is home to various research areas and groups described briefly below. Whenever possible, we work in interdisciplinary teams created specifically for specific projects.

»

Language Technology

The Berlin Language Technology Lab conducts research in various aspects of language technology such as text analytics, question answering, translation technology, and digital curation and content processing. The work is based on many years of experience and expertise in algorithms for speech processing, language structure, methods of machine learning and knowledge technologies.

Director: Prof. Dr. Hans Uszkoreit

»

Intelligent Analytics for Massive Data

Our team conducts advanced research in methods and technologies in the areas of scalable data management systems and tools, data mining, and open data/information marketplaces.

Director: Prof. Dr. Volker Markl

»

Intelligent User Interfaces

The Intelligent User Interfaces department develops the basics for multi-modal human-computer interaction, with a focus on mobile interaction, inclusion of all population groups, and interaction with systems for Industry 4.0. We use web standards to explore innovative interaction systems for multiple input and output modalities. Projects of EIT Digital analyze data from Industrie 4.0 systems, process it semantically and realize user-centered interaction solutions.

Director: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster

»

Interactive Texties

In the field of electronic textiles and Wearable Technology, Interactive Textiles is at the forefront of concept development for practical application. Through our research we design and analyse wearable interfaces, utilising a diverse range of textile materials and production techniques. Our participatory design methods include the users in all stages of design, with the aim to improve usability, and design socially sustainable Human-Computer-Interaction applications for a diverse group of users.

Director: Prof. Dr. Gesche Joost

»

Educational Technology Lab

The focus of the Educational Technology Lab (EdTec) is the use of innovative software technologies to support the educational and qualification processes of (pre-)school, academic and professional basic, advanced and further training. Of particular interest is the interaction between educational, organisational and technological development in an increasingly networked and digital world.

Director: Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel

Also the research areas Smart Data & Knowledge Services and Robotics Innovation Center (RIC) appaer at DFKI Berlin.

Supporting

BBDC
eit digital
metanet
Smart Data Forum
W3C

Berlin Spin-Offs

acrolinx
Leverton
Semantic Edge
softgarden
yocoy

Willkommen in Berlins Mitte!

Von der denkmalgeschützten Lessingbrücke geht der Blick über die Spree auf den Gebäudekomplex, in dem sich die Büros des DFKI Berlin befinden.

 

Treffpunkt Smart Data Forum

Fachzentrum und zentraler Showroom für innovative digitale Technologien sowie Ort der Begegnung für Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik.

1
1

DFKI Berlin

Die Berliner Forschungsstätte des Deutschen Forschungszentrums für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI GmbH) sitzt zentral gelegen im Focus Teleport am Spreebogen. Auf dem Gebiet innovativer Softwaretechnologien ist das DFKI die führende Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland. In der internationalen Wissenschaftswelt zählt das DFKI zu den wichtigsten „Centers of Excellence“ und ist derzeit, gemessen an Mitarbeiterzahl und Drittmittelvolumen, das weltweit größte Forschungszentrum auf dem Gebiet der Künstlichen Intelligenz und deren Anwendungen.

DFKI Human centric AI
DFKI Berlin

Human Centric AI

Unser Leitthema am DFKI Berlin ist die menschzentrierte Künstliche Intelligenz (KI).

Während das Ziel der klassischen KI oft war, den Menschen technisch nachzubauen, ist unser Ziel hingegen, sein Leben zu verbessern. Wir wollen dem Menschen durch den geschickten Einsatz von Technologie ein natürliches Umfeld schaffen, das ihn in allen Situationen seines Lebens unterstützt, seine Kreativität zu entfalten, mit anderen Menschen und Technologien barrierefrei zu kommunizieren und in jeder Situation über das notwendige Wissen zu verfügen.

Forschungsthemen

In vielen Bereichen der KI-Forschung sind derzeit kognitive Systeme führend, die maschinelles Lernverfahren und wissensbasierte Methoden kombinieren. Das DFKI hat schon sehr früh führend an diesen Technologien gearbeitet. Die Forschung und Entwicklung am DFKI Berlin lässt sich grob in drei Bereiche gliedern:

Smart Data Analytics

Smart Data Analytics

Während Big Data derzeit der bekanntere Begriff ist, liegen die größten Herausforderungen in der Aufbereitung und Analyse der Datenmengen. Wir arbeiten daran, Dokumentenmassen beispielsweise aus dem Web mit semantischer Sprachtechnologie in Echtzeit zu verarbeiten.

Machine Learning and Teaching

Machine Learning and Teaching

Maschinelle Lernverfahren sind der Motor der großen Mehrheit aller erfolgreicher KI-Systeme. Eine der Herausforderungen ist es, die Maschinen und Algorithmen in die Lage zu versetzen, dass sie intelligente Schlüsse aus den Daten ziehen. Wir arbeiten daran, Mensch und Maschine zu Partnern in einem lebenslangen Lernprozess zu machen.

Human Technology Interaction

Human Technology Interaction

Die Schnittstelle zwischen Mensch und Maschine (aber auch zwischen Maschinen) spielt eine entscheidende Rolle im Bereich der menschzentrierten KI. Hierbei muss die Situation richtig erfasst werden, das richtige Timing gefunden und der richtige Kanal gewählt werden. Wir arbeiten daran, durch situative Technologie den Menschen fast auf magische Weise zu befähigen.

Anwendungsbereiche

e-health & Well-being

Unsere Gesundheit und unser Wohlbefinden profitieren von der intelligenten Nutzung von Daten (Ernährung, Bewegung, medizinische Befunde etc.). Wir arbeiten entlang der gesamten Data-Value-Chain. Hierbei kommen Wearable Technologies ebenso zum Einsatz wie etwa Smart-Data-Technologien oder E-Learning.

Mobility & Smart City

Mobilität umfasst in der heutigen Zeit neben der räumlichen Dimension auch den gezielten Informationszugriff und die Kommunikation über sprachliche und kulturelle Grenzen hinweg. Wir arbeiten an den verschiedensten Aspekten, indem wir mit Methoden der KI beispielsweise intelligente Bewegungsprofile erstellen und Nutzern aus Kanälen wie Twitter oder Nachrichten gezielte und relevante Tipps oder Warnungen präsentieren.

Wearable Technologies

Künstliche Intelligenz wird immer ubiquitärer und rückt auch immer näher an den Körper heran. Teilweise umgarnt Technologie uns bereits heute im wahrsten Sinne. Wir sind speziell daran interessiert, Form und Funktion im Einklang zu halten. Die intelligenten Wearables sollen angenehm zu tragen sein und uns unsichtbar unterstützen.

e-health & Well-being

Unsere Gesundheit und unser Wohlbefinden profitieren von der intelligenten Nutzung von Daten (Ernährung, Bewegung, medizinische Befunde etc.). Wir arbeiten entlang der gesamten Data-Value-Chain. Hierbei kommen Wearable Technologies ebenso zum Einsatz wie etwa Smart-Data-Technologien oder E-Learning.

Mobility & Smart City

Mobilität umfasst in der heutigen Zeit neben der räumlichen Dimension auch den gezielten Informationszugriff und die Kommunikation über sprachliche und kulturelle Grenzen hinweg. Wir arbeiten an den verschiedensten Aspekten, indem wir mit Methoden der KI beispielsweise intelligente Bewegungsprofile erstellen und Nutzern aus Kanälen wie Twitter oder Nachrichten gezielte und relevante Tipps oder Warnungen präsentieren.

Wearable Technologies

Künstliche Intelligenz wird immer ubiquitärer und rückt auch immer näher an den Körper heran. Teilweise umgarnt Technologie uns bereits heute im wahrsten Sinne. Wir sind speziell daran interessiert, Form und Funktion im Einklang zu halten. Die intelligenten Wearables sollen angenehm zu tragen sein und uns unsichtbar unterstützen.

Forschungsteams

Am DFKI Berlin arbeiten verschiedene Forschungsbereiche und -gruppen, die im Folgenden kurz beschrieben werden. Wo immer möglich, arbeiten wir in interdisziplinären Teams zusammen, die für einzelne Projekte zusammengestellt werden.

»

Sprachtechnologie

Das Berliner Language Technology Lab forscht in verschiedenen Teilbereichen der Sprachtechnologie wie Textanalyse (Analytics), Frage-Antwort-Systeme, Übersetzungstechnologie sowie digitale Kuratierung und Verarbeitung von Inhalten. Die Arbeiten basieren auf vielen Jahren Erfahrung und Kompetenz in Algorithmen zur Sprachverarbeitung, Struktur der Sprache, Methoden des maschniellen Lernens und Wissenstechnologien.

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Hans Uszkoreit

»

Intelligente Analytik für Massendaten

Das Forschungsteam Intelligente Analytik für Massendaten (IAM) erforscht neue Methoden und Technologien in den Bereichen skalierbarer Daten­management­systeme und ‑werkzeuge, Data-Mining und Open Data/­Informations­markt­plätze. Die Gruppe unterstützt daten­getriebene Entscheidungs­findung unter Einbeziehung der gesamten Daten­wert­schöpfungs­kette: von Daten­erfassung und Informations­extraktion über Informations­integration und Speicherung bis hin zu skalierbarer Daten­verarbeitung, interaktiver Analyse und Visualisierung.

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Volker Markl

»

Intelligente Benutzer­schnitt­stellen

Im Forschungsbereich Intelligente Benutzerschnittstellen werden die Grundlagen multimodaler Mensch-Technik-Interaktion erarbeitet und personalisierte Dialogsysteme entwickelt, die Sprache, Gestik und Mimik mit physischer Interaktion verbinden. Dabei werden Benutzer-, Aufgaben- und Domänenmodelle verwendet, um das Dialogverhalten jeweils möglichst natürlich und das Dialogverstehen selbst in Gruppendiskussionen oder lauten Umgebungen möglichst robust zu gestalten. Durch die Integration virtueller Charaktere kann auch auf der Ausgabeseite emotionales und soziales Interaktionsverhalten realisiert werden.

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster

»

Interaktive Textilien

Der Forschungsbereich Interaktive Textilien verfügt über eine umfangreiche Expertise im Bereich der Konzept­entwicklung für elektronische Textilien und Wearable Technology, und widmet sich der Gestaltung und Analyse tragbarer Schnittstellen auf der Basis von textilen Materialien und Produktions­techniken. Unter Einsatz von Methoden der inter­disziplinären Design­forschung entwickeln wir Projekte zu den Themen Human-Computer Interaction, soziale Nachhaltigkeit und Partizipation, und Gender- und Diversity-Aspekte in der Kommunikations­technologie.

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Gesche Joost

»

Educational Technology Lab

Das Educational Technology Lab (EdTec) widmet sich der Unterstützung von Bildungs- und Qualifizierungsprozessen (vor-)schulischer, akademischer sowie beruflicher Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung durch innovative Softwaretechnologien. Besondere Bedeutung kommt dabei der Interaktion von Bildungs-, Organisations- und Technologieentwicklung in einer zunehmend vernetzten und digitalisierten Welt zu.

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel
Website: www.edtec.dfki.de

Die Forschungsbereiche Smarte Daten & Wissensdienste und Robotics Innovation Center (RIC) sind ebenfalls am DFKI Berlin vertreten.

Engagiert sich in

BBDC
eit digital
metanet
Smart Data Forum
W3C

Berliner Spin-Offs

acrolinx
Leverton
Semantic Edge
softgarden
yocoy